Role Model Entrepreneur of the Year!!!

It’s close to 2 months now since I left the US and arrived back home in Malawi . I have not had a second to sit down and actually put my thoughts in writing.  I have been reflecting how the year 2012 went for JARDS.

2012 was a very tough year economically for Malawians.  Forex shortages, fuel shortages, rise in prices of food, materials and I can go on and on.  I think it is safe to say every business felt the ‘pinch’, people were (and still are) buying what they need no longer just want they want….

Ive been thanking my lucky stars for the Community Solutions Fellowship and for my time in Boise, Idaho.  My products are in a Fairtrade Store! How cool is that???  I need this market – because I can definitely see if I do not broaden my market and enter international markets, there might not be a JARDS Products next year.

I was also chosen as the Role Model Entrepreneur of the Year for the 2012 Month of the Women Entrepreneur here in Malawi – great welcome home present 🙂 .  On top of that at the event JARDS Products won the Best Exhibitor.

Ive established contacts and networks this year that I could only dream about, but what 2012 has emphasized to me is never quit, always work hard.  You have only one life to live – whether you choose to make that life miserable or great is up to you – it takes the same effort.

2013 already seems promising – cant wait to see what the year beholds for me personally, professionally and for my business too!!!

About jardsproducts

JARDS is a social business that makes eco-friendly bamboo products, beaded jewelry and wooden carvings based in Lilongwe, Malawi. It is owned by 30 year old Rosebill Satha.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Role Model Entrepreneur of the Year!!!

  1. truck loans says:

    Thanks for the post. i really enjoyed reading it. keep writing such blogs.

  2. Julie C says:

    Congratulations on your honor and the great work Jards has accomplished! I can’t wait to see what amazing things you conquer in the future.

  3. Congratulations on your well-deserved award, Rosebill! We miss you in Boise!

Leave a Reply

